Climate Impact Advisory Committee


The Climate Impact Advisory Committee has 11 members. 


A minimum of seven members of the Climate Impact Advisory Committee must have previous work or educational experience in subjects including climate change,renewable energy development, energy conservation, energy sector, waste reduction and recycling, farming, food security, land use planning, municipal government and flood mitigation and planning. Elected officials and staff from the cities within the county are eligible and encouraged to participate as members.


Term Length

  • Member terms will be three years; provided, that the terms of members first appointed will be staggered so that five of
    the initial committee members shall be appointed for two years. 


The Whatcom County Climate Impact Advisory Committee provides review and recommendations to the Whatcom County Council and Executive on issues related to the preparation and adaptation for, and the prevention and mitigation of, impacts of climate change.


Additional Information