Flood Control Subzone Advisory Committees

The 4 subzones are:
The committees have special meetings throughout the year as needed.

There are 5 members on each subzone advisory committee. Whatcom County River and Flood Division staff may assign committee members from the county wide Flood Control Zone District Advisory Committee's alternate list.

Acme / VanZandt
The Acme / VanZandt subzone has 5 members (PDF):
  • Nicole Brown
  • John F. La Monte
  • Holly O'Neil
  • Galen Smith
  • Ian Smith
Lynden / Everson
The Lynden / Everson subzone has 5 members (PDF):
  • Ron Bronsema
  • John Courtney
  • Vacant
  • Nathan Kleindel
  • Hank Roorda
Sumas / Everson / Nooksack
The Sumas / Everson / Nooksack subzone has 5 members (PDF):
  • Vacant
  • Kelly Houston
  • Chuck Gelwicks
  • Jerry Juergens
  • Larry Mades
Term Limit
  • 2 full terms
    • 1 year separation required after 2 terms
Term Length
  • 4 years
The Flood Control Subzone Advisory Committees review the comprehensive plan for flood control, discuss and recommend budget appropriation, and gather public input by holding public meetings.

  • Revised Code of Washington 86.15.025(5)
Additional Information