Behavioral Health Advisory Committee


The Behavioral Health Advisory Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the Whatcom County Executive, via the Health Department, advising on general priorities for behavioral health programs, including substance abuse and mental health services. 


Meetings are held quarterly in the County Courthouse, Conference Room 514, at 3:30 pm.
**Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, meetings are currently held virtually online**

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The Committee consists of 11 members. Ten members are appointed by the County Executive, and one member must be a member of the County Council.

Current Membership Roster

Todd Donovan            County Council member

Anne Deacon              Health Department Designee

Nicholas Evans           Substance Use Disorder Advocate

Bill Elfo                          Whatcom County Sheriff

Mullane Harrington     PeaceHealth Representative

Dascomb Jamison     Substance Use Recovery Advocate

Wendy Jones                 County Chief of Corrections

Chris Phillips                 Mental Health Recovery Advocate

Dave Reynolds              Judicial representative

Susan Wood                  Behavioral Health Professional

Michael Massanari      Mental Health Recovery Advocate


All members are residents of Whatcom County. Membership must include one representative from:

  • PeaceHealth St. Joseph's Medical Center
  • Judicial branch of County government
  • Whatcom County Sheriff or designee
  • Chief of Corrections or designee
  • County Public Health Director or designee.

Additionally, the remaining five Executive-appointed positions shall include two people who are advocates of mental health recovery, two people who are advocates of substance use disorder recovery, and one behavioral health professional.


Term Length and Limits 

  • 3 year term
  • 2 consecutive full terms; 1 year separation required